Board of Ethics

Regular Meeting
  • Meetings held annually
  • Room 110
    City Hall
    105 Jay Street
    Schenectady, NY 12305
  • Father Dominic Isopo - Chair
  • Lawrence Dahlke, Esq.
  • Lawrence DeAngelus, Esq.
  • Michael Dalton


  • Overview
    The Schenectady City Council recognizes the fundamental principle that officers and employees of the City hold their positions to serve and benefit the public, and not for obtaining unwarranted personal or private gain in the exercise and performance of their official powers and duties. With that principle in mind, clear and reasonable standards of ethical conduct were established with the City of Schenectady Board of Ethics being charged with the obligation to review issues and render opinions relative to the administration of those standards.

    Additional meetings are held as necessary, with a regular annual meeting. For more information contact Amy Hill in the Finance Department.

    Mission Statement
    The board of ethics shall render advisory opinions to the officers and employees of the City of Schenectady with respect to Article 18 of the General Municipal Law and the Code of the City of Schenectady regarding the disclosure of interests in legislation before the local governing body, holding of investments in conflict with official duties, private employment in conflict with official duties, future employment, and such other standards as may be deemed advisable.

    Such advisory opinions must be rendered pursuant to the written request of any such officer or employee under such rules and regulations as the board of ethics may prescribe. The board of ethics shall have the advice of legal counsel employed by the board, or if none, the municipality’s legal counsel. In addition, the board of ethics may make recommendations with respect to the drafting and adoption of a code of ethics, or amendments thereto, upon the request of the City Council.

    In January 1971, local law 1971-02 established the Board of Ethics (Section 48-18).


  • 2013-001: Application for a Green Home Improvement Grant by Ms. Diana Fletcher (PDF)
  • 2023-001 Ed Laven, Jr. - Decision
  • 2023-002 John Polimeni - Decision
  • 2023-003 Thomas P. Kennedy III - Decision
  • 2024-001 Michael Dalton - Decision